You’ve got to be kidding me

So I was in Costco yesterday, getting the usual bulk products and yummy Costco chicken.  I had a crapload of shit in my basket, and an old man was behind me with one item.  Feeling rather kind yesterday, I asked the old man if he wanted to go in front of me.  His response?  “No, you are very kind.  Xie Xie.”  WTF?  Are you f*cking kidding me?  I looked at him and I said, “Excuse me?”  And he repeated, as if it was impossible that my kind could not hear him the first time, “xie xie.”  Oh, you must have a death wish.  I replied, “I have no idea what you’re saying.”

Ok people.  Let’s have a little lesson.  Just because someone might look like they speak a different language, don’t presume.  This old man looked like he might be a pedophile.  But I did not immediately ask him what it’s like to want to screw children or what happened after he appeared on To Catch a Predator.  He also looked German.  But I did not ask him if he hailed Hitler.  Why is it okay to presume that I speak Chinese?  What did you want me to say old man?  Oh, I am so impressed that you know how to speak one sound in Chinese and repeat it to state one phrase.  How very culturally kind of you to make me feel welcome in America by speaking to me in my native tongue.

Asshole.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal Pontification, Things I Loathe, WTF?

2 responses to “You’ve got to be kidding me

  1. JW

    my personal fave is when they get the race wrong and say “konichiwa” to me. yeah. because all asians look the same.

  2. Alexis Nectar

    nothing to be surprised about, but that also happened to me. i wanted to say, “i’m sorry, but I don’t speak stupid.”

Leave a Reply

