Song of the Week

This week’s song is by Ray LaMontagne (shout out to AM for the introduction), an up and coming singer-songwriter from New Hampshire.  Below are the lyrics, provided by cowboylyrics.com (I’m not joking-that’s an actual site).

Baby
It’s been a long day, baby.
Things ain’t going my way
you know I need you here
here by my side
all of the time

And Baby, the way you move me it’s crazy.
it’s like, you see right through me, you make it easier,
You please me and you don’t even have to try.

oh because,
you are the best thing
you are the best thing
you are the best thing
ever happened to me

Baby,
We’ve come a long way, baby.
you know, I hope and I pray that you believe me
When I say this love will never fade away

oh because
you are the best thing
you are the best thing
you are the best thing
ever happened to me

Now both of us have known love before,
To come on up promising, like the spring, just walk on out the door.
Our hearts are kind and are hearts are strong.
well, let me tell you what exactly is on my mind.

you are the best thing
you are the best thing
you are the best thing
ever happened to me

you are the best thing
you are the best thing
you are the best thing
ever happened to me

yeah, yeah
yeah, yeah, yeah,
now, now, now, now

What’s the inspiration for this song?  I actually just really enjoy this song, and I figured a happy go lucky song is just what is needed on this brutally awful hump day.  Of course, for me, since I’ve worked long-ass days since last Monday, technically my hump day was sometime last week.  But that’s just a technicality.

Now that I think about it, though, this song could be good for an Obama rally.  Imagine Barack coming out, giving one of his inspirational speeches; lambasting his ancient opponent and that opponent’s wholly moronic running mate.  He speaks of hope, of change, of a new era away from the politics of stupidity.  As his speech hits its crescendo, Barack waves to the crowd, cuing the beginning of this song and thereby further energizing a crowd that is thirsty to drink from the cup of change.  Because after 8 years of drinking the diarrhea tea brewed by Dubya, I could sure use a chaser.

Leave a comment

Filed under Legal Woes, Song of the Week

Leave a Reply

