Song of the Week – The Return of Pop Culture

This week’s song marks an interruption in my coverage of the politics of stupidity.  I really need a break from hatin’ on Palin.  And what better song to enjoy than Josh Radin’s “What if You,” a song that could make the best of us slit our wrists in despair.  Happy Friday!  (Lyrics from Lyric Wiki)

What if you
Could wish me away
What if you
Spoke those words today

I wonder if you’d miss me
When I’m gone
It’s come to this, release me
I’ll leave before the dawn

But for tonight
I’ll stay here with you
Yes, for tonight
I’ll lay here with you

But when the sun
Hits your eyes
Through your window
There’ll be nothing you can do

What if you
Could hear this song
What if I
Felt like I belong

I might not be leaving
Oh so soon
Began the night believing
I loved you in the moonlight

So, for tonight
I’ll stay here with you
Yes, for tonight
I’ll lay here with you

But when the sun
Hits your eyes
Through your window
There’ll be nothing you can do

I could’ve treated you better
Better than this
Well, I’m gone, this song’s your letter
Can’t stay in one place

So, for tonight
I’ll stay here with you
Yes, for tonight
I’ll lay here with you

But when the sun
Hits your eyes
Through your window
There’ll be nothing you can do

This song is sweet, isn’t it?  Depending on how you interpret the lyrics, it appears that Mr. Radin could be quite the playa (and I’m not talking about the Spanish word for beach).  Seems like Radin is sick of taking the walk of shame at 3 in the morning and he’s hoping that if he just stays until the sun rises, he’d be able to stick around for breakfast and cuddling.  You know, what every playa wants.  Nothing like spooning and oatmeal.  Don’t hate the playa.  Hate the game beyotch!

1 Comment

Filed under Song of the Week

One response to “Song of the Week – The Return of Pop Culture

Leave a Reply

